These notes are taken from Chapter 14, News Releases, Media Alerts, and Pitch Letters in the text of Public Relations: Strategies and Tactics.

Chapter 14 was very beneficial to me in this class this semester, and taught me a lot of essential information that I will undoubtedly use in my career in Public Relations in the future.

This chapter gave an overview of News Releases, including planning a news release, the content of the News Release, how to properly format the release (whether it is for print or electronic media); Publicity Photos and their captions; Media Press Kits and Fact Sheets; and the proper way to write Pitch Letters. The section that discussed media kits was very interesting to me, and I am looking forward on developing creative ways of putting these together in the future.

Also, the chapter went over specific ways to distribute media materials, depending on if it is by mail, fax, e-mail, or online newsrooms.

