Earlier this week, while I was on Twitter, I began looking at Tweets that had come in from one of the pages I follow, BrandYourself. They posted a link  to an article that was extremely interesting and informative, and gave a lot of valuable information and tips about public speaking. Since public speaking is inevitably something I will need to do a lot in the field of public relations, or for any career, I found the article to be very educational. Even if I do not end up doing a lot of public speaking in my career, the same principles will undoubtedly hold true for interviews or working with people on a one-on-one basis.

The article that I read was entitled How to Master the Art of Public Speaking, written by Kevin McLlvaine. This article was found on the BrandYourself website. Public speaking is well-known as one of the biggest fears that most people have, but with the right tools, preparation, and mindset, it is something that can easily be conquered and mastered.

The first thing that I found to be incredibly interesting and informative in the article was the idea to make a voice recording of the speech that is being prepared. Having the ability to hear yourself speak can make you more aware of your voice inflection, how easily understandable the actual words being spoken are, and can give opportunity to change anything that is unclear and be constructively critiqued. It is also a good idea to have another person listen to the recording to potentially give input as well. If you are preparing for an interview, however, it is benefical to record a friend interviewing you for extra practice. I definitely plan on doing this before my next interview!

