Instead of having class several weeks ago, I, along with other students in Barbara Nixon’s COMM 4333 class took an online course on the Poynter’s News University website. At first, I was a bit skeptical at having to take this course, but I am extremely glad that I did. Grammar has never really been an issue for me, but it is always good to have something to refresh my memory.

The course began with a 2 minute introductory video, followed by 2 hours of grammar and punctuation lessons, broken down into various categories. Each category taught the rules of spelling, punctuation, and grammar rules that are easily forgotten, and gave several examples and a chance to practice what was just learned.

At the end of the course, I had to take a quiz to test what I had just learned. The quiz was a little harder than what I thought it would be, but definitely was able to point out the areas where I need to improve on. Poynter’s NewU suprised me, but I now see it as a valuable resource to be used in my career for the future.

