I had never heard of or visited the Grammar Girl website until this week, I was excited to spend time reading some of the articles and listening to the podcasts. Grammar Girl is an excellent resource for new writers and professionals alike.

The topic I chose to read was on Text Messaging Grammar. Since text messaging is a part of my everyday life, as well as the lives of the majority of my peers; I felt that this would be a relevant and helpful article.

The biggest thing that I learned while reading this article was that there are 3 categories of situations when it comes to text messaging: informal (text messages and e-mails to friends and peers), formal (text messages and e-mails to friends and peers), and intermediate (can be either formal or informal, based on personal judgment). The way text messages and e-mails are crafted vary, depending on the social situation and audience receiving the message. In text messaging, shortened sentences and abbreviations are acceptable, but misspelled words are not an appropriate choice.

I was extremely surprised to read that in New Zealand, a news story regarding improper text messaging surfaced in November of last year. Apparently, The New Zealand Qualifications Association does not dock students for using text message abbreviations on their national academic exams. Since the majority of students are so used to communicating in this way, teachers and school officials agreed that as long as the information was clear, these abbreviations would be accepted on exams.

After reading this article, I would like to know more ways of proper text messaging etiquette and to learn more tips of how to shorten text messages, while still communicating in a professional and formal way. I am curious to hear which substitutions are appropriate, and creative ways of communicating in under 140 characters.

